The BS Computer Science Research and Development Unit has emerged big winners in the recently concluded 5th Y4IT Research Summit 2021 held last May 15 and 22, 2021 respectively via virtual conference.

The unit were composed of three teams from Commonwealth and Caloocan branches, awarded with BEST PAPER PRESENTATION for authoring the outstanding paper titled “Applied Computer Vision on 2-Dimensional Lung X-Ray Images for Assisted Medical Diagnosis of Pneumonia”, BEST POSTER for the outstanding poster titled “Interfacing Telemedicine with Web Real-Time Communication APIs Using Google Congestion Control Algorithm” and CERTIFICATE OF RECOGNITION for having presented the paper titled “SMART FACE SHIELD: Sensor-Based Monitoring and Analysis of Real-Time Fight Against COVID-19 Enforcement Shield” under the Computer Science category.

The teams from Commonwealth branch were composed of selected BSCS graduating students namely; Ralph Joseph SD. Ligueran (Presenter/Author), Emman H. Valencia, Vince D. Fernandez (Co-Authors), Hannamel John F. Inocensio (Author), Ryan J. Cabansag, Weenie P. Catabay, Jerwin M. Puzon, Michael E. Rellora and Lannie A. Osela (Co-Authors).

While the students from the Caloocan branch were composed of Ms. Karlene Emily I. Tolosa (Presenter/Author), Darwin B. Diaz, Marvin B. Salvame and Ricky G. Belen (Co-Authors).

For 4 consecutive years, the institution has been recognized with 4 Best Papers, 2 Best Posters and 1 International Conference Best Paper awards since 2017 under the leadership and supervision of the Dean of Computer Science Department and the concurrent Thesis Teacher/Adviser Prof, Manuel Luis Concha Delos Santos, DIT (Candidate).

Virtual Y4IT Research Summit (YRS) 2021 is an event inviting young researchers, faculty and changemakers throughout the country which aims to provide the Filipino youth a dynamic digital platform for presentation and exchange of diverse ideas focusing on the computing science and technologies, hosted and organized by the University of the Philippines System IT Foundation (UPSITF).